Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

ELC School Foundation

October 26, 2012
Estherville Daily News

To the Community of Estherville:

On behalf of the ELC School Foundation, I would like to thank the many businesses and members of our community that made our 18th Annual "Champion in Education" event a great success for us!

This year's honoree, retired ELC Elementary Principal, Kris Schlievert, was honored for her many years of commitment and dedication to the children of our district and their families. Thank you to the family, friends and many colleagues who attended the dinner to honor her.

The ELC School Foundation relies on banquet sponsorships to cover our costs and to ensure continued growth to support our grants and scholarships. This year's 38 sponsors are a wonderful display of the support we have in our community for the educational needs of our youth! We thank ALL of our sponsors and urge everyone to return their support by doing business locally. 2012 sponsors are listed here:

Asmus Farm Supply*, Green Plains Renewable Energy*, Avera Holy Family Health, Greig & Company, Bank Plus, Henry Olson Funeral Home, Bob Jensen Agency, Houseman Oil & Riverside Sinclair, Brinkman & Reed, CPAs, Hy-Vee Store, Dr. Bruns & Williams Family Dentistry, ILEC & Basic Electric Power Coop, Blum & Leonard Agency, Jacobsen Westergard, Christensen Construction,

Jensen Stores, Dakota Pack & Iowa Protein Solutions, Mid-American Transport, Dave Howard LPA Firm, Motor Inn Auto Group, Daybreak Foods, Inc., Nelson, Gayer & VerSteeg, PLC, Don Jose Mexican Restaurant, North Star Bank & Agency, Edward Jones Investments, Northwest Bank, Ernie Williams, LTD, P.E.O. Chapter ON, Estherville Foods, Inc., Racine's for Him & Her, Estherville Noon Kiwanis, Ruthven Meat Processing*, Estherville Rotary Club, Wittneben Surveying*, Eye Care Centre, Woman to Woman Clinic, Fitzgibbons Law Firm, Woody's Pizza

* Denotes new sponsor this year

This year we added a "Grab Bag" Raffle for which local businesses donated merchandise and people we were able to purchase tickets for chances to win. The following businesses donated items and gift certificates for this raffle:

Ace Hardware, Pizza Hut, Casey's, General Store, Q Custom Designs, Cool Beans Coffee Shop, Radio Shack, 5th Street Salon & Gifts, Regional Wellness Center, Fareway, Riverside Sinclair, Images Unlimited, Shear Attractions, J.K.L. Designs, Shear Shack, L Creations by Leslee, Simply Unique, Lakefront Gardens, The Cutting Edge, Oak Hill Designs by Lynn, Westwood Massage, Outlet Store,

We also thank Estherville Golf Course for donating the use of the club house, Fifth Street Gifts for our centerpiece, Clarken Auctioneering for helping with our dessert auction, KILR & EDN for publicity, Betty's Flower Box for Kris' bouquet, and cat tales anteeks for the antique dessert plates. Our fantastic desserts were created by Doug Wagner, Jill Jensen Gifford, Amy Jo Lyon, Vicky Alvarez, Laurie Olson, and Mischelle Dahna. The auction was a great success, and we say a special "thank you" to those that bid on and purchased the desserts: Estherville Foods, Greig & Company, Ed Wilcox, Eye Care Centre, Dean & Denise Christensen, and North Star Bank & Agency. Thanks also to Allie Sievert, Cheyanne Petit, Lee Christensen and Vanessa Avalos who helped wait tables as part of their Purple Cord service work.

The ELC School Foundation provides scholarships to graduating seniors, recognition awards for the valedictorian and salutatorian, and helps fund the Key Grant Program in which every class grades K-12 benefits. We are able to continue these projects because of our sponsorships, tickets sales, and memorials, through donations of stock for estate and tax planning, by establishing a scholarship in a loved one's name, and through the payroll deductions made by many of the employees within our school system.

Last, but not least, thank you to the volunteers that make up the ELC School Foundation Board of Directors. They are Theresa VerSteeg, Dave Howard, Kevin Sander, Mary Beardsley, Edith Clarken Curt Dare, Lisa Dreeszen, Bernadette Duitsman, Jodie Greig (school board liaison), Becki Hall, Mark Henry, Alice Mitts, Andrea Nelson, Doug Wagner and Betty Ann Rosfjord. These people do a wonderful job of helping to promote and support the work of the School Foundation.

Again, a HUGE thank you to all who have helped our foundation grow, and to the many "Champions in Education" that give their time and support to improve our school system.


Molly Jo Anderson, President

ELC School Foundation



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web