Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

Emmet County election roundup

Turnout down slightly in 2012

November 7, 2012
By David Swartz - Managing Editor , Estherville Daily News

As with any election, there are many little stories.

While Iowa turned out in higher numbers in 2012 compared to the 2008 election, Emmet County was down.

In 2008, 5078 voters cast ballots. Tuesday's election saw 4,696 county residents vote. However with 7,564 registered voters, 62.08 percent of Emmet County let their voice be heard at the polls.

Among those voting for the straight party ticket, 708 Democrats toed the party line compared to 543 Republicans.

According to IowaWatch, a non-profit, online news website, Emmet County was one of 18 counties in Iowa who supported Barack Obama in 2008, but voted for Romney in 2012. Romney received 2,499 votes (53.55 percent) while Obama received 2,087 votes (44.72 percent).

In 2008, Obama won Emmet County with 51.2 percent.

Other Iowa counties switching allegiances in 2012 were Adams, Audubon, Benton, Carroll, Crawford, Delaware, Franklin, Greene, Hamilton, Hardin, Iowa, Kossuth, Lee, Palo Alto, Poweshiek, Story and Winnebago. Woodbury County was the one county that supported McCain in 2008, but Obama in 2012.

Judge David Wiggins

Emmet County voters agreed with the rest of the state in the vote to retain Iowa Supreme Court Judge David Wiggins-but not by much with 1,878 'yes' votes to 1,661 'no' votes.

Throughout Iowa, Wiggins received 54.6 percent of the votes and needed just a simple majority.

Emmet County township trustees and clerks

Although some townships apparently have trouble finding candidates for township trustees and clerks, voters in Center, Emmet, Iowa Lake and Lincoln townships voted not to give the power of appointing a qualified trustee or clerk to the respective positions. Totals were as follows: Center 55 no, 32 yes; Emmet 57 no, 27 yes; Iowa Lake - 39 no, 28 yes; Lincoln 26 no, 21 yes.

In Armstrong Grove Township, the vote total on the question of appointment was deadlocked at 38-38. However those results are still unofficial until the Emmet County Board of Supervisors canvass them.

Meanwhile all county trustees and clerks were unopposed.

For two trustees in Armstrong Grove, Everett J. Schirm received 89 votes. There were five write-in votes.

Center Township also voted for two trustees. Ronald Klingbeil received 88 votes and Don West received 68.

For two Emmet Township trustees, Chris Snyder was the lone name on the ballot and he received 80 votes. There were four write-in votes.

There were no candidates for two Iowa Lake Township Trustee positions. There were 13 write-in votes.

For two Lincoln Township Trustee positions, Kim Swanson received 45 votes and there were nine write-in votes.

For Armstrong Grove Township Clerk, there were no candidates on the ballot. There were six write-in votes.

There were three open positions for the Soil and Water conservation District Commission but only two candidates. Robert Ness received 2,800 votes and Bill Fettes received 2,139 votes. There were 97 write-in votes.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web