Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

ELC fine arts awards given

May 17, 2013
By Michael Tidemann - Staff Writer , Estherville Daily News

Estherville Lincoln Central fine arts students were honored for their accomplishments Thursday night in the high-school gym.

Patrons of Fine Arts president Mari Miller Burns acknowledged the role parents play in encouraging and fostering their children's artistic talent.

"Without these people . . . you would not be able to do what you love," she said.

Miller Burns also praised the dedication of program directors.

"Being a fine arts director is an additional full-time job," she said.

Senior Cheyanne Lepird also thanked Patrons and parents.

Praising her performers was band director Laura Giebler.

"I feel like the band had one of its most successful years ever," she said.

Following are some of the awards presented.


Honor Band Award: Season Burton, Martin Christensen, Brad Olsen, Zach Shryock, Mackenzie Wilson, Colten Christensen, Alicia Jorgenson, Rebecca Lair, Calvin Lynch, Alex Murillo and Jillian Murray

Outstanding Jazz Musicianship Award: Brad Olsen, Mackenzie Wilson, Colten Christensen and Calvin Lynch

Outstanding Freshman Band Award: Jillian Murray.

Outstanding Sophomore Band Award: Emily Jorgenson.

Outstanding Junior Band Award: Alicia Jorgenson.

Outstanding Color Guard: Hannah Lenertz.

Marching Band Spirit Award: Zach Shryock and Mackenzie Wilson.

Directors Award: Martin Christensen.

Louis Armstrong Jazz Award: Brad Olsen.

John Philip Sousa Band Award: Season Burton.


Outstanding Seniors: Martin Christensen, Hannah Lenertz, Cheyanne Lepird and Season Burton.

National School Choral Award: Bobbi Hansen.

Director's Award: Brad Olsen.

Senior Fine Arts Award: male, Martin Christensen; female, Season Burton.

Outstanding Male Actor: Brad Olsen.

Outstanding Female Actress: Cheyanne Lepird.

Outstanding Male Support: Ben Herrick.

Outstanding Female Support: Season Burton.

Outstanding Student Artists

First quarter: Jessica McQuiggan, Art 1, Hewitt; Mariajose Rodriguez, Art 1, Wilson; Shayla King, Art 3; Britany Busch, Art 5; Aysha Pettyjohn, Art 7.

Second quarter: Emily Jorgenson, Art 1, Hewitt; Taylor Nissen, Art 1, Wilson; Dalton Zimmerman, Art 3; Tayler Bodle, Art 5; Mackenzie Wilson, Art 7.

Third quarter: Tiffany Tatum, Art 2, Hewitt; Shelby Morris, Art 2, Wilson; Yesenia Garcia, Art 4; Kendra Bartolo, Art 6; Hunter Gifford, Art 8.

Fourth quarter: Hannah Newton, Art 2, Hewitt; Emily Origer, Art 2, Wilson; Cayli Newton, Art 4; Kyle Marks, Art 6; Janey Hecht, Art 8.

The Elements and Principles Award: Cayli Newton.

The Studio Artist Award: Kyle Marks.

Art show winners

Elementary Choice: Cayli Newton, "Hampster with Headphones".

Faculty Choice: Alysha Pettyjohn, "Yoga".

Artists' Choice: Alysha Pettyjohn, "Two Lions".

Best in Class Gold Level: Humberto Rodriguez, "R3D", Art I & II; Shayla King, "Adele", Art III & IV; Tayler Bodle, "Dory and Squishy", Art V & VI; Alysha Pettyjohn, "Yoga", Art VII & VIII.

Best in Class Silver Level: Jessica McQuiggan, "Early Sailing", Art I & II; Shaela Scott, "Drake", Art III & IV; Kendra Bartolo "The Darkness", Art V & VI; Mackenzie Wilson, "Contrast", Art VII & VIII.

Best in Class Bronze Level: Emily Jorgenson, "A", Art I & II; Cayli Newton, "Hampster with Headphones", Art III & IV; Kyle Marks, "Mr. Churchill", Art V &

VI; Hunter Gifford, "Pottery", Art VII & VIII.

Best in Class Honorable Mention: Jessica McQuiggan, "Live and Let Die", Emily Jorgenson, "Passion", Carolyn Ramos, "3D Value", Art I & II; Yesenia Garcia, "Old Fashion Camera", Adam Roelher, Audi R8, Daulton Zimmerman, "69 Chevy Camero", Art III & IV; Tayler Bodle, "Ray Charles", Britany Busch, "Wiz Khalifa", Art V & VI; AlyshaFF Pettyjohn, "Kitten", "Tiger" and "Two Lions", Art VII & VIII.

Best of Show: Alysha Pettyjohn, "Yoga".

Best of Show Runner-Up: Taylor Bodle, "Dory and Squishy".

Best of Show Second Runner-Up: Mackenzie Wilson, "Alto".

Best of Show Honorable Mentions (15 or more votes): Mackenzie Wilson, "Contrast"; Cayli Newton, "Hampster with Headphones"; Humberto Rodriguez, "R3D";

Alysha Pettyjohn, "Two Lions", "Kitten" and "Tiger"; Emily Jorgenson, "Z"; Britany Busch, "Wiz Khalifa"; Shaela Scott, "Drake"; Shayla King, "Adele".

National History Day

Calvin Lynch: participation district and state contests.

Bailey Adolph: participation district and state contests and Best Military Award at state.

Becca Lair: participation at district and state contests and alternate to nationals at state contest.

Season Burton: participation at district and state contests and finalist at state contest.


Outstanding Supporting Actor Female: Season Burton.

Outstanding Actor Female: Cheyanne Lepird.

Outstanding Supporting Actor Male: Ben Herrick.

Outstanding Actor Male: Brad Olsen.

International Thespian Society Cords: Season Burton, Cheyanne Lepird and Bobbi Hanson.

Overall Senior Fine Arts Awards

Fine Arts Male: Martin Christensen.

Fine Arts Female: Season Burton



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web