Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

New districts equal new opponents in 2014

January 31, 2014
By David Swartz - Managing Editor , Estherville News

The new high school football districts were established recently. For Estherville Lincoln Central, the Midgets will see a mix of teams from the previous two years along with some different teams in Class 2A District 2.

Clarion-Goldfield, Garner-Hayfield/Ventura and Forest City are the holdouts from then previous two years.

Also in ELC's district are Clear Lake, Hampton-Dumont and Osage.

Clear Lake was in Class 3A last season and lost to Bishop Heelan in the semifinals. Hampton-Dumont also went undefeated in the regular season made the playoffs in Class 2A, but lost to Beckman Dyersville in the first round.

Garner-Hayfield/Ventura was a playoff team that also lost in the first round in Class 2A.

The 2013 records of the teams are listed in the accompanying box.

Fact Box

2013 Records of 2014

Class 2A District 2 Teams


New Hampton9-0 6-0

Clear Lake9-06-0


Forest City4-52-4

Clarion-Goldfield 3-62-4



Class 2A District 1 Teams

Central Lyon/George-Littl Rock


MOC-Floyd Valley


Sioux Center

Spirit Lake

Class A District 3 Teams


Bishop Garrigan, Algona


Newman Catholic, Mason City

North Butler, Greene

North Union

West Hancock, Britt

Class 8-Man District 2 Teams

Clay Central-Everly


Harris Lake-Park




St. Mary's, Remsen

West Bend-Mallard

The Midgets will see how much they can improve in coach Andy Umthun's second year and whether the new district gives ELC more opportunities to win.

Spirit Lake moved to Class 2A District 1 with Central Lyon/George-Little Rock, Cherokee, MOC-Floyd Valley, Sheldon and Sioux Center. Okoboji moves up from 1A to 2A to join that district.

Meanwhile Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley moved up to Class 3A while Unity Christian dropped into Class 1A.

North Union may fare better on the gridiron as they drop from Class 1A to A.

Instead of teams like Emmetsburg, South O'Brien and Western Christian, the Warriors' Class A District 3 includes Belmond-Klemme, Bishop Garrigan, Nashua-Plainfield, Newman Catholic (Mason City), North Butler and West Hancock.

Meanwhile Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire will see several familiar foes in its new district. Fellow Cornbelt Conference opponents include Clay Central-Everly, Harris-Lake Park and West Bend-Mallard.

Other teams the Titans have faced the last two years include Laurens-Marathon, Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn, Remsen-Union and St. Mary's of Remsen.

Non-district opponents for all teams won't be announced until some time later in February.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web