Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

ELC seniors reap rewards

Community, colleges step up with scholarships

May 16, 2014
By David Swartz - Managing Editor , Estherville News

Community and school groups, colleges and universities provided Estherville Lincoln Central High School seniors with scholarships to help them continue their education at the next level at the annual Senior Awards Day Friday in the ELC High School gym.

Students, mostly seniors, received recognition awards for community service as well as for excellence in a particular area of study.

"This is day of recognizing achievement and the gift of scholarships," said ELC Guidance Counselor Mindy Brechwald. "We wish them all the best in whatever they do.

Article Photos

ELC senior Purple Cord recipients are, from left to right, Kayla Evans, Alicia Jorgenson, Cole Budach, Ashley Hartkopp, Tia Bernholtz, Rebecca Lair, Heather Natterstad, Rachel Bates, Joe Heinrichs and Billy Snyder. Find photos from the day at
Photo by David Swartz

"Also on behalf of the class, we thank the scholarship providers," said Brechwald. "We also thank the teachers, administrators and school staff involved with them throughout their school careers," she said.

ELC High School Principal Frank Christenson told the assembled audience that 28 seniors of the Class of 214 had a grade-point average above 3.8.

Again this year, seniors earning salutatorian and valedictorian honors had GPA's above 4.0. Co-salutatorians are Alec Wycoff and Rebecca Lair while Heather Natterstad earned valedictorian honors with a 4.067 GPA.

Christenson said Natterstads was the highest GPA since the school district began weighting classes.

Calvin Lynch was honored with the Attendance Award after missing no school days in four years of high school with just four tardies.

Iowa Lakes Community College awarded $65,350 to ELC seniors planning to attend the school this fall.

Scholarship Award Winners

Iowa State Bar Association Citizenship Award: Rebecca Lair, Cody Davis

Avenue of Flags: Rebecca Lair

Sonstegard Tyrell Scholarship: Anthony Segura

Bank Plus Outstanding Graduates: Levi Jensen, Madison Burns

Elks Scholarships: Cole Budach, Rachel Bates, Ashley Hartkopp

Patrons of the Fine Arts: Rebecca Lair, Kyle Marks

The Andersons: Anthony Segura

Estherville Rotary: Tia Bernholtz, Kayla Evans

Estherville Lincoln Central Foundation: Anthony Segura, Michaela Stein, Levi Jensen, Chris Seylar

Jon and Michelle Wood Scholarship: Rebecca Lair

Motor Inn Auto Group Scholarship: Corey Reeves

ELC Staff Award Scholarship: Rachel Bates

Effie and Stanley Egertson Scholarship: Levi Jensen, Alec Wycoff

Emmet County 4-H Foundation Scholarship: Rebecca Lair, Brianna Enerson, Kyle Marks

Holle Smith 4-H Foundation Scholarship: Kyle Marks

Chapter AY, P.E.O. Scholarship: Tia Bernholtz

Estherville Ambassadors Community Service Award: Tia Bernholtz

Travis Loftis Memorial Scholarship: David Hughes, Alicia Jorgenson

Citizens Credit Union Scholarship: Heather Natterstad

Emmet County Cattlemen's Scholarship: Brianna Enerson

Basin Electric Scholarship: Heather Natterstad

Emmet County ISU Scholarship: Alicia Jorgenson

Kiwanis Walter Hammer Scholarship: Tia Bernholtz, Cole Budach

John Sawyer Memorial Scholarship: Sarah Schacherer

Estherville Noon Kiwanis Scholarship: Heather Natterstad

Allyn Hansen Memorial Agriculture Award: Blake Gjerde, Brady Witzke (second year: Bryce Hansen)

North Star Masonic Lodge: Cole Budach

Mediacom World Class Scholarship: Rachel Bates

Road to Success Scholarship: Sarah Schacherer

Estherville WA TAN YE Scholarship: Jozlynn Ringer, Rebecca Lair

River Valley Telecommunications Co-op: Anthony Segura

MYFL Scholarship: Joe Heinrichs

Knights of Columbus Scholarship: Sarah Schacherer, Joe Heinrichs, Tia Bernholtz

Chapter ON, PEO: Jozlynn Ringer

ELC Education Association: Heather Natterstad, Chris Seylar

Intellectual Freedom Scholarship: Heather Natterstad

Al Limberg/Booster Club Scholarships: Jacob Bortvit, Heather Natterstad

Frieda Willet Trust Scholarship: Ashley Hartkopp

Employees Credit Union scholarships: Heather Natterstad, Jake Hanson, Ashley Hartkopp.

Iowa Lakes Community College Scholarships

Alumni Dependent Scholarship: Jacob Bortvit, Liz Brashear, Cole Budach, Colten Christensen, Ali DeVary, Blake Gjerde, Jacob Hanson, Mikayla Hein-Maltero, Samantha Longman, Kevin Miller, Jozlynn Ring, Taylor Russell, Mike Simon

High School Dual Credit Scholarships: Victoria Abrahamson, Ana Alonso, Thomas Bortvit, Cole Budach, Colten Christensen, Ali DeVary, Jacob Hanson, Samantha Longman, Jozlynn Ring, Taylor Russell, Billy Snyder, Brady Witzke

JAMSL Scholarship: Levi Jensen

Holiday Express Corporation Scholarships: Timothy Soper

Loyd (Bunny) Houseman Memorial Scholarship: Kevin Miller

John and Johanna Thomas Memorial Scholarship: Blake Gjerde

Iowa Broadcasters Quarton-McElroy Scholarship: Timothy Soper

Gaarde-Hinsch Scholarship: Raul Murillo

Clyde and Grace Sanborn Scholarship: Jacob Bortvit

National Science Foundation Infinity Scholarship: Cole Budach, Anthony Segura

HG Albee Business Administration/Management Scholarships: Tia Bernholtz, Tayler Bodle, Liz Brashear

HG Albee Music Scholarships: Colten Christensen, Calvin Lynch, Timothy Soper

HG Albee Arts and Sciences Scholarship: Jacob Bortvit, Blake Gjerde

Stanley O. and Alma Young Scholarship: Ali DeVary, Kevin Miller, Timothy Soper

Gene Leonard Memorial Scholarship: Jacob Bortvit, Thomas Bortvit, Kevin Miller, Timothy Soper

Iowa Lakes Presidential Scholarship: Tia Bernholtz, Cole Budach, Madison Burns, Kayla Evans, Sarah Schacherer

Other Scholarships:

River Valley Telecommunications Co-op Scholarship: Anthony Segura

GKN Scholarships: Lauren Moeller, Dakota Moffitt

Emmet County Pheasants Forever Scholarship: Chris Seylar

Recognition Awards

President's Volunteer Service Award: Justin Heinrichs, Joseph Heinrichs, Jose Rodriguez, Emily Jorgenson

Purple Cord: Kayla Evans, Tia Bernholtz, Alicia Jorgenson, Ashley Hartkopp, Rebecca Lair, Rachel Bates, Chris Seylar, Cole Budach, Joe Heinrichs, Heather Natterstad, Billy Snyder

DeKalb Award: Rebecca Lair

Attendance Award: Calvin Lynch

English Award: Kyle Marks

Mathematics Award: Heather Natterstad

Social Studies award: Bailey Adolph

Science Award: Tim Greving

Fine Arts Awards (See Fine Arts Award Night story)

Riverside Sinclair Awards: Joe Heinrichs, Cody Davis

Hoyt Luithly Award: Thomas Bortvit, Brianna Enerson

Hoyt Luithly Academic Awards: Alec Wycoff, Heather Natterstad

Bernie Saggau Award: Rachel Bates

Senior Athlete of the Year Awards: Rachel Bates, Joe Heinrichs

Salutatorian Award: Alec Wycoff, Rebecca Lair

Valedictorian Award: Heather Natterstad



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web