Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

Community Foundation awards grants

June 26, 2013
By Michael Tidemann - Staff Writer , Estherville Daily News

Saying that nearly $615,000 in grants has been awarded over the past eight years, Emmet County Community Foundation chair Penny Clayton thanked board members for their efforts in a grant award ceremony Wednesday at the VFW Post 3388 Trophy Room.

"It certainly has had a local impact on organizations, agencies, schools," Clayton said, adding that sustaining endowments have also benefitted.

Tom Wickersham, executive director of the Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa, the hosting grant agency for the Emmet County Community Foundation, thanked foundation board members.

Article Photos

Foundation members included front row, left to right: Jeanne Handeland; Tom Wickersham, executive director of the Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa; Colleen Enerson; and Barb Christensen; second row: Cathy Beaver; Mike Karels; and chair Penny Clayton.
EDN photo by Michael Tidemann

"They're the ones that do all the hard work of sifting through applications," Wickersham said.

"Without a good board, this stuff just doesn't happen," Clayton agreed.

Grants awarded included:

n Armstrong VFW Post 5232 - steam table.

n Armstrong-Ringsted School District - defibrillator.

n Camp Foster YMCA - Kinship program activities.

n City of Armstrong - shelter roof.

n City of Dolliver - door replacement.

n City of Wallingford - new playground equipment.

n Emmet County Public Health - Healthy Beginnings program.

n ECHO Plus - chore services van.

n Elks Lodge #528 - doors, ceiling and carpet.

n Emmet County Extension - Clover Kids, summer workshops and Strengthening Families programs.

n Emmet County Family Resources - year-end celebration/Prevent Child Abuse Iowa.

n Emmet County Historical Society - Palestine Lutheran Church restoration.

n Emmet County Nature Center Foundation - environmental education and water safety.

n Estherville Lincoln Central and RWC - Energizers Plus and senior fitness programs.

n Friends of Fort Defiance - Whitetail Ridge interpretive trail.

n Good Samaritan Society - new furniture for memory care unit.

n Iowa Lakes Community College - Emmet County Volunteer Network.

n Northwest Iowa Mental Health Center/Seasons Center - education outreach.

n VFW Post 3388 - changing Trophy Room to a community room.

n Wallingford Fire Department.

Emmet County Community Foundation board members include:

n Penny Clayton, chair.

n Barb Christensen, secretary-treasurer.

n Jim Fisher.

n Mike Karels.

n Vickie Rooney.

n Cathy Beaver.

n Colleen Enerson.

n David Grussing.

n Max Pelzer.

n Jeanne Handeland.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web